Oh Heart that Wanders

Photo credit: Debra Scowden       white berries

There are so many days I feel as if I cannot go any further.  Spent from the demands of my life.  The responsibilities can be overwhelming.  Do you ever feel this way?

As I was reading scripture, this verse spoke to me.

1 Kings 19:7. “The angel of the Lord came back a second time and touched him (Elijah) and said, Get up and eat, for the journey is too much for you.”

The Lord sent an angel to help Elijah get the strength he needed to continue on his appointed journey.  Fleeing for his life, tired, alone, hungry.  It is in his most desperate place the Lord sent help.  Food, rest and encouragement.

This very same thing the Lord does for us when we are in the desert places of our lives.  What a great comfort.  No matter what I am going through, the good or the bad, the Lord provides me with exactly what I need.

PRAYER: Dear Heavenly Father, I pray that no matter where I am in my life, I would sense Your presence, that I would feel Your touch and be energized and nourished.  In Jesus’ name, Amen

Oh heart that wanders to and fro,
Restlessly moving, away you go.
Your mind so filled, your legs give way,
Afraid to rest, to trust, to pray.

Who cares?  You wonder in your mind.
Who sees my suffering, the pain that binds?
Sweet one, you’re held by great God’s love,
Rest, trust, pray; all worry let go of.

He knows your every hair and tear.
He reminds you, “Child, do not fear.”
“I’m with you through every turn,
Your life is my greatest concern.

As you wander from here to there,
Remember, for you, God always cares.
Even when you’re too tired to pray,
Your debt He paid; in Him do stay.

Close your eyes, get some rest.
God holds you on His strong breast.
Your life is His – forever to keep.
Like a loving shepherd caring for His sheep.

And when you wake from your slumber,
Blue skies will have replaced the thunder.
You’re strengthened, encouraged and renewed,
By the nourishment of God’s heavenly food.

1 Kings 19:7. “The angel of the Lord came back a second time and touched him (Elijah) and said, Get up and eat, for the journey is too much for you.”

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

