Wait on the Lord

moss

Photo © Debra Scowden 2016

                January 12, 2016

      Wait for the Lord;
Be strong, and let your heart take courage;
Wait for the Lord!
Psalm 27:14

      As I read this verse, my dear friend Dawn, came to my mind and heart. She is strong, courageous and patient. The Lord is her source of hope and strength. She waits for the Lord with such grace and compassion. She is my hero.

When she was first diagnosed with cancer, she told me that she was clinging to Psalm 27. I have not forgotten that, and read it often when I am praying for her. David wrote about the Lord being his light and salvation, and that He is the stronghold of his life, of whom shall he be afraid. Powerful words that reach to one’s heart.  That describe Dawn.

As Dawn is beginning a new drug trial for her cancer this week, I am reminded of the utter frailty of my own life. I am also reminded that all of our days, hairs and tears are intimately known by Jesus. It greatly comforts me, especially on days when I don’t feel at my best, to be well known, loved and cared for. I know this is what my friend counts on, too. That the Lord knows her and cares for her, and for her family.

PRAYER: Dear Heavenly Father, I pray that I would remember to always wait for You; that You would be the strength, courage and hope that my friend Dawn always clings too, that you will her protect her, heal her and make her whole. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Wait for the Lord,
In His timing and His ways.
The strength is His cord.
He hears you as you pray.

“Be strong” – you are strong!
Your heart is filled with great hope;
To Him- do you fully belong.
Your devotion beyond others scope.

Amazing courage and bravado,
Your life exemplifies great strength.
Jesus is your life’s motto,
He knows you- width and length.

Wait on the Lord,
On His word prayerfully reflect.
A plan- a beautiful reward,
His love for you is perfect.

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

