Ode to Baby (Dec. 2003 – ….)

DSC_0589.JPG

This well loved stuffy is my youngest daughters almost constant companion since she was seven months old.  I glanced over at her lying haphazardly on the back of the sofa and saw a photo opportunity.  Afterwards I had words wanting to be written our my precious daughters well loved Baby.

Myprecious daughter, my you always know how much I love you.  Even more than you love Baby.  ❤️ Love, Mom

She’s thread bare, not torn.
Been held close each night,
Almost since my baby was born.
Now she won’t let her out of sight.

We named her “Baby”, easy to say.
But at first she was Spunkmeyer.
That name hardly lasted a day.
She has been our daughter’s pacifier.

But she’s not the only Baby we’ve had,
For our D was skillful at hiding her.
A nap or bedtime without Baby was bad,
Only Baby at these times she’d prefer.

So off to the store, did this momma go,
To find not one but two more.
We attempted trick her with a little show,
Then she found the old one in drawer.

So we stashed the others away,
In case baby once again disappeared.
Like a dog who has gone astray.
Once found all would shout and cheer.

At last I’ve come to the end of my prose,
About our daughters precious lovey.
Perhaps you might remember, I suppose,
And be just like this little girls mommy.

 

 

 

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

