A Wave of Hope

hawaii waves and sunset
Waves in Hawaii, by Debra Scowden

One of my most favorite places to go is the beach.  There is a peace and calm I feel whenever I hear the waves.   Several years ago I had the sweet opportunity to go away for a personal retreat weekend.  I know the photo I’ve included is from Hawaii, but it is the same ocean, just from a different state and perspective. 🙂

I had a bit of an agenda for my get-away.  Mostly to be by myself, enjoy the quiet and spend time with the Lord.  On the last morning I sat in my small cottage that overlooked the beautiful Pacific Ocean in the Northwest.  The day was clear and crisp November morning.  I observed the ocean and its magnificent power.  I likened its power to that of God’s.  It’s great and also so much of it is unknown to me.  I can get lost in its beauty, just as I can get lost in God’s great love for me.

In Jeremiah 31:35 we read, “Thus says the Lord, who gives the sun for light by day and the fixed order of the moon and the stars for light by night, who stirs up the sea so that its waves roar; the Lord of hosts is His name.”  A beautiful promise.  That is what I see when I gaze upon the ocean.  I am filled with God’s hope, the Lord of hosts, with every wave that He brings to shore.

So the next time you are standing on a beach looking at the ocean, I pray you would be filled with the amazing, never-ending hope for Jesus.

 

A WAVE OF HOPE
Debra Scowden © 11/2013

I hear the waves a crashin’,
A thunderous roar for sure.
The power behind each white cap,
It’s strong, but so much more.

The sand submits to the power,
It understands it’s place.
Like me when I am truly focused,
On living in God’s grace.

At once the waves are gentle,
A soft lapping on the sand.
Like the Lord who is benevolent,
Never pushy, yet always on hand.

The water forever moving,
A fluid motion to behold.
Like Jesus who’s ever present,
Tender, kind and yet bold.

The ocean may be a mystery,
To many a man today.
But nothing’s more certain in life,
Than God filling us with hope-we just need pray.

Don’t let your heart be led,
By things that rust and burn.
Nor be at the mercy of others desires,
Toward His light completely turn.

And like the waves that touch the sand,
Trials are sure to come.
But stand firm in the Words of Jesus,
Where true peace and joy come from.

And when our days are over,
While we watch the sun slowly set,
We’ll be ushered gently into heaven,
By Jesus Christ, who selflessly paid our debt.

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

