Stop, Sit, Submit

    Photos by Debra Scowden 2016


I am a part of an online Bible journaling challenge for the month of January.  Since today is Martin Luther King, Jr. Day the premise was about areas we may be personally struggling and then asking God to help us grow and change into the best we can be for Him.  What I’m enjoying most about this study is that its not focusing on my being artistic in my journaling Bible, but about know who God is and what He wants for me.  It’s has been a beautiful journey.

The scripture that we focused on today was First John 5:5, “Who is it that overcomes the world except the one who believes that Jesus is the Son of God.”  The assignment was being honest about my personal struggles, then coming up with 3 goals for a better life.

So let me begin by saying I have put this in first person because it is my story, my struggles and my goals.  If you connect with any of what I share and are helped by it please let me know by leaving a comment.

My Struggles are impatience and self-control.  Dear Heavenly Father, in the mighty, powerful name of Jesus, I pray that I would stop before I reach the point of impatience, calming me so I can live out that fruit of patience; that my lack of self-control would be turned around completely to total self-control because I am depending only on You, Lord Jesus, Amen.

Three Goals for a Better Life

  1. STOP:  When the feeling of impatience begins to enter my mind, I need to stop myself immediately and pray.  Similar to the game of Monopoly, when you land on the Go To Jail or receive a card from the Chance deck, you are forced to STOP what you’re doing and where your going, and go to the spot marked jail.  It’s here that I have to sit and wait.  No sense is being impatient or losing self-control.  I must stop.  Job 37: 14 says, “Listen to this; stop and consider God’s wonders.”  So, that’s pretty clear.
  2. SIT:  When my schedule is full, or we are running late, I become impatient and lack self-control.  I can get frustrated with my girls, or whomever may be around.  😦  This scenario is all too common in my life. It affects my husband and my children., and myself.  Not something I am proud of in the least.
    As I reflect on my goals towards patience and self-control, I can see how much of this craziness is my own doing.  Overlapping events on the calendar cause me great angst.  That is when I have  physically stop myself.  I need to sit still with the Lord,  open my Bible and search for scripture that will bring me to completely focus on Jesus.  Some scriptures I have camped on are Psalm 37:7, Psalm 131:2, Jeremiah 29:11 and Lamentations 3:24-25.  Truly, there are so many amazing verses to hold onto.
  3. SUBMIT:  After I stop myself, I sit with the Lord and His word.  Here is where I need to be willing to submit myself, completely and fully, to His good and perfect will for my life.  Hebrews 10:36 reminds me, “You need to preserve so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what He has promised.”  This perseverance is moving toward His will and plan, no matter what.
    Ultimately, His will is being done in my life whether I’m on board with it or not.  The end result, where I’ll end, depends on whether or not I choose to submit to His will.  I choose to submit.  I say to myself, “Submit yourself therefore to God.  Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.”  (James 4:7)  Great words.  Not necessarily easy, but possible with God.

 

DSC_0599


Life has troubles and turmoil,
Pain and suffering, too.
These seasons seem to spoil
My plans, out they just flew.

I stop and hold all movement,
Reflect on God’s Holy word.
To be a devoted student,
My spirit is deeply stirred.

I search the scriptures fully,
My heart longs to know
God’s will for me completely,
His promise shines; a rainbow.

Submitting to Him only,
No other thing I need.
With God I can live boldly,
In my words, my heart, my deeds.

To know that Jesus Christ,
Is indeed the Creator of all.
His life for me He sacrificed,
I am no longer held in thrall.

DSC_0683

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

