Pride

DSC_0688

Pride is defined as having a high or inordinate opinion of one’s own dignity, importance, merit or superiority.  It can be a cherished opinion in the mind or can be shown in our behavior.

There are so many times that I can be so self consumed with my own importance.  Toward my daughters, my husband and other family and friends.   As I looked up scriptures on pride I came across Galatians 6:3 which says, “For if anyone thinks he is something, when he is nothing, he deceives himself.”  I don’t wish to be so self consumed that I deceive myself.  No matter what I do or think, I will never deceive the Lord.  He knows my heart.  As I read further in scripture I find James 4:6 which reminds me, “But he gives more grace.  Therefore it says, ‘God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”    God alone gives grace.  God gives grace.  GOD IS GRACE.

There it is, God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.  He wants me and you to be humble, to put ourselves in full submission to His good and perfect will for our lives.  I want to receive His grace.  How about you?

This kind of submission is not easy.  In fact we have to acknowledge that we are weak.  In this weakness, can He be strong for us.

DSC_0703

“For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”  Luke 14:11

Pride infects my very soul,
In ways too many to count.
Pride causes me to lose sight,
Of Jesus upon the mount.

Let go-let God, I’ve heard it said.
Lord, grant me freedom from,
My pride which does debilitate
Life under Satan’s thumb.

A humble heart is my desire,
A heart exalting You.
In Your grace I long to live,
My life, my hope, You grew.

The Word became flesh upon the earth,
You breathe all things to be.
My life, my mind, my heart You’ve made,
With You, Lord Jesus, from pride I am free.

PRAYER: Dear Heavenly Father, I ask for humble confidence in all I do and say; I pray for this same confidence for my sweet husband and our precious daughters, and for all who are reading this and needing Him.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen!

Author: debrascowden

Wife to Scott, mom to Emily and Danielle. I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

