It Was Only Yesterday…

DSC_0701
“Backyard Swings” – Debra Scowden, 2016

It was only yesterday that I dreamed of being a momma.  Prayed for God to answer that prayer.   It was about 16 years ago, just feels like yesterday.  The time has gone so quickly.  How about you?   What do you dream of?  Do you faithfully go to Jesus in prayer?

When we wanted to start a family, we were younger and filled with hope and the possibilities of parenthood.  Our own attempts to become pregnant fell short.  Leaving both of us feeling (me much more than my beloved) hopeless.

Then one day I woke up and felt the Lord asking me, “Do you want to be a mom?”

“Of course I do.” I responded in my mind.

God answered, “So, put your trust in Me and let’s make you a mom.  I have a plan, always have.  You now just need to let me work out the details.”  Just like Jeremiah 29:11 says, “For I know the plans I have you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

And that is what He did.  It took just under two years in the adoption process for us to bring our first daughter home.  I was a momma.   Yes, He did know, and He perfectly planned out every single detail.  Twenty-one months later we brought our second daughter home.  Our family was complete.  God just needed me to let go of my agenda, and let Him work out His.  His words says, “Your eyes saw their unformed bodies; all the days ordained for me and them were written in Your book before one of them came to be.” (italics mine)  A beautiful and amazing promise from God for each one of us.

The time has flown by.  Our eldest is 14 1/2, our youngest is 12 1/2.  No longer babies, or even little girls.  They are young women.

As I took this picture in our backyard the other day, I reminisced about them as little girls.  Then the Lord nudged my heart, there were words He wanted me to say.  Words that He had sitting in my heart.  My beauties will always be in my heart.  It is where their lives for me began.  The Bible says, “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Matthew 6:21)  The Lord is my treasure, I prayed for babies, He faithfully answered my prayer.

It truly seems like only yesterday when our daughters played on these swings every chance they could.  Now this play structure sits in our backyard, lonely and abandoned.  Our girls have moved on from playing in the backyard to visiting with friends, and enjoying other activities.  Growing up.

Seasons of life.  Like the seasons of the year.  Each one offering its own beauty and gifts.  “There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under the heavens…” (Ecc. 3:1)   This season of parenting is full of rich and lovely rewards.  Knowing that both of my girls love the Lord, and have a growing faith.  They both have a sense of right and wrong, and mostly do what is right.  I love being their mom.  I love watching them grow into the most amazing young women a mom could ask for.

So, whatever you dream of, whatever God has placed on your heart, put your trust in Him.  The One who lead David to write, “I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.  My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.” (Psalm 139:15)

PRAYER:  Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for creating me, knowing me and caring so much about me.  I pray that anytime I doubt that I would look back and see all you have done in my life and the lives of others.

IT WAS ONLY YESTERDAY
by Debra Scowden

These swings are calling
from days not long ago.
Of laughter and of playfulness,
with sunshine and some snow.

Brightly colored clothing
represents their cheerful ways,
today my mind remembers,
all of summers dog days.

No longer do they swing,
yet lovely they still are.
Today I sweetly cherish,
my girls, my super stars.

What I know for certain,
what I hold onto so dear,
is the beauty of my babies,
whether far away or near.

They’ve grown into young women,
with hopes and many dreams.
Someday, Lord willing, they’ll be mamas,
with babies, and they’ll beam.

Their babies will be swinging,
with delight in their eyes.
Sweet laughter and playfulness,
as they reach up to the sky.

Where the Lord will always guide them,
to each place they’ll ever go.
He will clothe them with compassion,
from them kindness will overflow.

 

 

 

Author: debrascowden

Wife to Scott, mom to Emily and Danielle. I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

