The Storms of Life

I fell asleep last night with the wind whipping outside. I awoke this morning to rain hitting my bedroom window. Last night’s wind brought this morning rain. Kind of like life.

There are times when what is happening in our lives can make us feel like we cannot stand. Its force so strong, like last night’s wind. It may seem to suddenly stop, bringing a quiet and peace in our midst. But this particular whipping wind brought with it clouds bursting with heavy rain.

I have always love the winds that are so strong they physically move my body. I like those winds when I can see what its force is doing. In the daytime when I can see the trees blowing, and the clouds being rearranged in the sky by the hands of an Artist, I can even see when those clouds begin to turn dark and threatening. All is well when I can see.

But at night, when there is nothing for me to see, I become anxious. What type of storm is this wind bringing forth? Of course I have no idea. But this particular storm I am in the midst of is giving me a dependence on God the likes I have never experienced. In the same way I had depended on my husband to care and provide for us. Except this is real faith and trust in One I cannot see. In the book of John we learn about the story of Thomas. We’ve heard him called doubting Thomas because he did not believe that Jesus has risen from the grave. He needed to see with his own eyes and feel with his own hands, the marks from the nails and the spear that had pierced Jesus’ body. Of course, Jesus knew his doubt. He appeared in the house where they were, stood among the disciples and said, “Peace be with you.”

I can hear Jesus speaking. His words are for me, too. For all of us. He desires that we have peace that passes our human understanding. The story continues. Then Jesus looks directly at Thomas and says to him, “Put your finger here; see my hands. Reach out your hand and put it into my side. Stop doubting and believe.” (John 20:29)

When we can see what lies before us, we are often more likely to put our trust and faith in God. I have written for many years about fully relying on and trusting in God. Up until now I thought I had trusted Him with everything. Yet, as I look at our life altering experiences, my husbands stroke and unknown rehabilitation and his inability to provide for us, I am so completely aware of God’s providence.

Providence is defined as the foreseeing care and guidance of God over the creatures of the earth. He knows, He sees, He cares and He will guide. Trusting in His providence…that is real faith. “Now faith is confidence in what we hope for and assurance about what we do not see.” (Hebrews 11:1)

Yes, the wind was wild last night. It brought a storm. But, Jesus remind us, “I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33). In Him I have peace in the midst of this storm. I will have joy, and peace. I am His regardless of the storm that has surrounded us. I am His and He is mine.

Dear Father God, You knew all of our days before even one came to be. I will trust in You. Second Chronicles 20:15 is being spoken to me and all of us today, “…and he said, “Listen, all Judah and the inhabitants of Jerusalem and King Jehoshaphat; thus says the Lord to you, “Do not fear or be dismayed because of this great multitude, for the battle is not yours but God’s.” I pray that we would all, no matter who we are or what we are going through, would put our trust in You, believing our prayers are answered. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

“If the clouds be full of rain, they empty themselves on the eartFullSizeRenderh.”  Eccl.  11:3

I’ve heard it said many times,
That rain clouds will bring rain.
Their darkness hovers, it’s hard to see,
Yet this is where my Savior wants me.

Thunder booms and lightning blinds,
A tree is shattered, it hits the ground.
It is the Lord, in Him I find,
Real peace; grace and joy surround.

I hold on to His faithful Word,
It reminds me I am never alone,
Though life may bring twists and turns,
He is ever faithful and guides me home.

I’ll count on Jesus every day,
No matter the circumstance.
For nothing is too big, too gray,
He knows my future in advance.

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.””  John 16:33 NIV

 

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

