Our Perfect Provider

img_0367

I have once again been reminded of God’s generous provisions this past week. I’m not just talking about financial provision. More of His eternal provisions. How does the Lord faithfully provide for you in your life? Is it the roof over your head that keeps you warm and dry in this cold season? Or perhaps it’s the job you have that allows you to feed, cloth and cover your family? For some of us, it may be the way God reminds us that He is right here with us, holding us up, encouraging and guiding us toward His end. This is His true provision in my life.

No matter the circumstance in your life I hope and pray that you daily thank God for the help He lovingly, willingly provides you.

In the early morning hours of the day, before anyone else is stirring, I get up to begin my day. Armed with my Bible, a cup of coffee and a journal, I sit. What will my day be filled with? I ask Him to prepare me for whatever is to come, to be ready with love, truth and immense gratitude.

So how does the Lord faithfully provide for me? Let me count the ways.

1. He reminds me to trust in Him with all my heart, and not to lean on what I know or understand. (Proverbs 3:5 paraphrased )
2. He reminds me, that in worldly riches to not be arrogant or put my hope. They are uncertain. But hope only in God…who will provide me with everything for my enjoyment. (1 Timothy 6:17 paraphrased).
3. He reminds me… that the Lord my God is God; he is the faithful God, who keeps his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commandments. (Deuteronomy 7:9 paraphrased.)

Are there more ways? Absolutely! The Bible is filled with promises of His hope and provision for us, his people.

Yet, there are so many days that I forget. I forget to whom I belong. I forget where my hope comes from. I forget what awaits me at the end of this difficult life. After all, I am a broken and sinful human, given free will, able to chose each day what to keep my eyes and heart stayed on. I remember when I first accepted Jesus as my Lord. I thought, wrongly, that once I accepted Jesus, life would be…well easy. That I’d be free from trouble, pain and suffering. Wrong indeed. Now, years later, as I have grown in my understanding of what it means to be a follower of Christ, I known that it is in my trouble, pain and suffering that God meets me and reaches me. “Yet he saved them for his name’s sake, to make his mighty power known.”
‭‭(Psalm‬ ‭106:8‬ ‭NIV‬‬). I am a new creation, not for me, but for Him, “…to make his mighty power known.” Amen.

So you see, His provisions go far beyond my creature comforts. They take me, stretch me, towards heaven. “‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’” (Acts‬ ‭17:28‬ ‭NIV‬‬).

My great, generous and powerful Provider, who delights in me, desires that I would delight in Him. Like it says in Matthew 6:26, “Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they?” He provides.  Period. So why not let Him? Why don’t you give Him all the glory and praise?

Today is a new day. What will you choose to do?
Will you hold onto worldly things, or give it all to God?
Can you look at life’s challenges, trust Him to see you through?
With blind faith, and trust eternal, in Him be deeply awed?

Today is a new beginning, may your heart be renewed
In the the beauty of the trinity-Holy Spirit, Father, Son.
May you know for sure and certain, a heart full of gratitude
That in His life and death, dear child, “it is finished,” for you it’s done.

Today is but a moment in the heart of God above,
So don’t hesitate to make the choice for eternity;
For Jesus Christ’s death is about you, His true love.
Godly repentance to salvation, a magnificent certainty.

Today will soon be tomorrow, so my friend do not delay.
Jump into the living waters with everything you’ve got.
All your sin in His death, because He loves you, He paid,
Your salvation, life in heaven, with his life he gladly bought.

As I close out my quiet time with the Lord, I hope and pray that I will keep my eyes on Him. That no matter what bumps I hit, or storms come my way, I will say, like Paul the apostle `“Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already arrived at my goal, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians‬ ‭3:12-14‬ ‭NIV‬‬).

Our provider, the Lord Jesus Christ, it is all we need. Today. Because, my friends, today is all we have. No promise for tomorrow. So let’s live today as if it were our last, living it for Him. “In the same way, let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16 NASB)

Dear Heavenly Father, help me to be a light for You, let my eyes and heart and mind be firmly planted in Your living Word. I pray that today I would share Your joy, and I would delight in You. Thank you for your faithful favor as it gently falls upon my life. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

