Laughter

img_2248

Laughter…is the best medicine.

I wrote  this yesterday morning.  Just now getting to finish and post. 🙂

Today is Halloween. Although as family we don’t celebrate what this day is about, we do participate in a huge happening at our church. A harvest party.

This year has been pretty challenging for our family. So as the announcement came and sign-ups to help were posted, we said “yes!” Yes to being helpers. Yes to participating in sharing the gospel message. Yes to fun and laughter.

We have been helpers before, each of us. But this year as I think about the past eight months I want to have fun, to laugh, to be silly. Because laughter is the best medicine. Here’s a great article from healthdigezt.com listing nine benefits of laughter. http://www.healthdigezt.com/9-very-real-benefits-of-laughter/

So what does laughter and our churches harvest party have to do with the challenges in my life, you ask? Well, let me tell you. When the weight of life has got me feeling down, I know its time for a change. Being silly, dancing, singing and just general goofiness, lifted my spirits yesterday. I attended a volunteer meeting with our youngest daughter. As we stood in line for lunch, the music was playing right next to us. In a light-hearted and silly way, I started to dance. Of course my daughter backed away from me a bit, giving me the look that only a 13 year old can. But, let me tell you, the feeling in my heart and head were incredible. I can’t remember feeling so good.

Laughter and good times don’t change our situation. However, they can change how we look at them. How we feel overall. I know it’s a chemical thing in our bodies. It’s a very good thing.

So, as I prepare for the day, school, errands, chores…I am excited about tonight’s party. I am looking forward to donning my costume (a jaguar onesie), maybe even drawing whiskers on my face. The thought of it delights my soul.

“A happy heart makes the face cheerful, but heartache crushes the spirit.” Proverbs‬ ‭15:13‬ ‭NIV‬‬‬‬

This verse says it all, don’t you agree? In your own experience, haven’t you found that when your own heart is happy everyone around you can tell? Your eyes light up, your step is bouncier, you can laugh at yourself. We all need more laughter in our lives.

Laughter, happy hearts and a joyful spirit. James 5:13 says, “Is anyone among you in trouble? Let them pray. Is anyone happy? Let them sing songs of praise.” So I hope we will, today, chose to be happy.

Laughter is the best way,
To find your true home.
Let your heart rejoice and say,
“let joy be my way to roam.

There’s not nearly enough laughter,
In this world in which we live.
So let your voices forever after,
In Jesus’ joy you’ll be eternally attractive.

Be silly, fun and a bit carefree,
Each day make happiness your choice.
Let the world know and see,
In the Lord you fully rejoice.

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

