Blurred Lines

img_2251

“I will not forget you! See, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands.” Isaiah 49:15-16

Do you ever feel sad, angry, overwhelmed, exhausted, alone and confused all at once? That the life you have is just too much and you want to pack up and leave it all behind? There are days, my friend, when I couldn’t move fast enough in the opposite direction of where I am.  Get me outta here!

Yet, is that what God really wants me to do?

It’s been a life altering season for my small family of four. I used to think the baby and toddler years were the tough ones. Not to demean them, for they are a unique and challenging time for many stay at home moms.

But having had stroke happen, one is never prepared. I sure wasn’t.

From the fear of losing my husband to this dreadful brain attack, to the preparation of finally bringing him home. I was ill-prepared. So much to do, and so much to know. Which I didn’t fully understand at the time. “Casting all your anxieties on him, because he cares for you.” 1 Peter 5:7. How grateful I am for a Savior who knows what I need before I ask, who cares for me. Especially in this season.

In the beginning I could not see clearly. My life lines became very blurry. Many days they still are.  But what has not been blurred is my need to stay focused on Jesus and his beautiful words written for me. I belong with Him, to Him. My life and my hope are built upon the solid rock of Jesus Christ. Amen.

Although I don’t know how it will all turn out, I can be certain of the end. In the end I will be sitting with Jesus in heaven, forever. Enveloped in His glory. 🤗

“By wisdom a house is built, and through understanding it is established; through knowledge its rooms are filled with rare and beautiful treasures.” Proverbs 24:3-4.

Oh, let my life be a reflection of Proverbs 24:3-4!

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” Galatians‬ ‭6:9‬ ‭‬‬

I am weary, to be sure.  But am reminded that staying on the course of doing good, there will be a harvest.  In God’s perfect timing and way.

When life’s lines become blurry,
When burdens seem to great.
Just rest in Him, no need to hurry,
With Him it’s never to late.

With faith as small as a mustard seed,
Great mountains and oceans He moved;
And in faith the multitudes did He feed,
My friend there is nothing God cannot improve.

Be strong and courageous, but not in yourself,
But in God whose proven through the ages,
His treasure abounds, not ever withheld,
For in His death did he pay our sins wages.
His word reminds us he’ll not forget us,
He’s engraved us in the palm of his hand.
We are worth more than rubies and such,
So take heed of each word and command.

For the days will soon come to an end,
All the trials and challenges and pain.
And He’ll say, “Well done, my faithful friend .”
Nothings lost, but all eternity you gain.

“For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God— not by works, so that no one can boast. For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.” Ephesians‬ ‭2:8-10‬ ‭NIV‬‬‬‬

Dear Father God, I pray that I would live today as though it were my last on earth; that I would serve others, put others before myself; that I would rest in the knowledge that with You I need nothing, for with You I have everything. I pray that I would be a hearer and doer of Your Word; that I would be kind, gentle, loving and long-suffering. You know that in my flesh I can’t do anything, but with You, in You all things are possible. Lord, you have been faithful even when I am not; your hand is ever upon me; on Your hand my name is engraved. Thank you, Lord Jesus, for this life you have given me. Let me love because you first loved me; let me hope because you have shown me what it means to be hopeful; let me give because you have given to me the ultimate gift, Your life in exchange for my sins.  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen!

Author: debrascowden

Wife to Scott, mom to Emily and Danielle. I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

