In Fear of Darkness

 

img_0256

I arose early this morning. Something I’ve not done in quite a while. So many things going on in my wee brain. The list of to do’s, the places I need to bring my children or my husband this week, the light fixture in the closet that needs something other than replacement bulbs.

But what weighs on my mind the most this morning as I read my bible was fear. Fear of what we can’t see. I liken it to the fear a child may have of the dark. It’s scary. We wonder what is lurking in the darkness.

When I was younger I was afraid of the dark. I would lay in bed, eyes wide open, waiting. At some point in the night exhaustion would overtake me and I would fall asleep. Waking to the light of day, and putting my fear away until later. There were nights the fear was paralyzing.. Gripping me with a stronghold.

I don’t remember at what age I begin to let go of the fear of the darkness. I know I was an adult. Having not been raised in a believing home, there was much spiritual darkness all around, all of the time. Day and night. I now know that is what contributed to my fear. But what of those raised in a Christian home? Why do some still fear the dark of night?

In First Peter, the fifth chapter, verse 8 we read, “Be alert and of sober mind. Your enemy the devil prowls around like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.” We are to be alert and of a sober (to make or become more serious, sensible, and solemn) mind. Remembering that God is a not a God of disorder but of peace. 1 Corinthians 14:33

So is fear of darkness unfounded? Absolutely not. To be afraid of darkness is to acknowledge that Satan lurks in the shadows of our lives. But, we, as believers, are to live in the light. With the Trinity on our team, we can overcome the dark because He has come to overcome the world, which is dark.

There are dark forces all around us. It might be a website we frequent, music we listen to, thoughts we have. In a sneaky and conniving way the enemy uses these and many others to put unfounded fear in us.

Fear of shadows that move in the night,
Oh heart, my heart stay focused on God’s light.

When fear grips my soul-
To You I give all control.

Fear has no place in my life anymore,
God’s peace I pray, in joy I’ll soar.

There may be a day when some fear returns,
But my God will abate all of my fearful concerns.

img_2253

The first step to overcoming fear is to acknowledge that Jesus Christ is your Lord and Savior. To let the Holy Spirit indwell in you. “If you declare with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,: and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9 proclaims.

Next, with godly fear and trembling (“Therefore, my dear friends, as you have always obeyed—not only in my presence, but now much more in my absence—continue to work out your salvation with fear and trembling.: Philippians 2:12)) pray believing that He who created the darkness and the light is with you. A light on a hill cannot be covered. With Him, you and I are that light. Let His light shine before all men… (“You are the light of the world. A town built on a hill cannot be hidden.” Matthew 5:14. )

Finally, search scripture that speaks of overcoming your fear. Read these scriptures as prayers, write them down, and read them during the day and during the night. Let God’s amazing grace and peace wash over you, and see how He washes away your fear.

So as my day comes to a close, and the sun is now beginning to set, may I be held in my Savior’s strong protective arms.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you for showing me sections of scripture that remove doubt and fear of your sovereignty. I lift to You a sweet young girl who has been gripped with this kind of fear, I lift her to Jesus; loving arms; I pray you will no longer fear the shadows, but illuminate all darkness with His light. In His name I pray, Amen.

“Say to those with fearful hearts; be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance; with diving retribution he will come to save you.” Isaiah 35:4”

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

