In the Morning

img_0147“Let the morning bring me word of your unfailing love, for I have put my trust in you.” Psalm 143:8

There are so many things rumbling through my mind this morning. I am thinking of what lies before me…the busyness of the day. Bible study, an appointment for my husband, school for the girls, laundry and packing for our trip. I am thinking of a friend, whom I love very dearly, in a very difficult place, yet I know she is filled with hope of what is to come, of being with Jesus in heaven.

I am thinking of money, and how faithfully the Lord of lord’s, the King of kings, has provided for us beyond anything I could have ever dreamed or imagined. And knowing that truly everything we possess belongs to God. Always has and always will. More than I ever really understood.

I am thinking about what it means to meditate on God’s Word. In Deuteronomy 32:45-47 we read,

“When Moses finished reciting all these words to all Israel, he said to them, “Take to heart all the words I have solemnly declared to you this day, so that you may command your children to obey carefully all the words of this law. They are not just idle words for you—they are your life. By them you will live long in the land you are crossing the Jordan to possess.””
‭‭Deuteronomy‬ ‭32:45-47‬ ‭NIV‬‬‬‬‬‬

I am thinking about how God’s words, through Moses, are our life, and not just idle words. How many words do I speak and think in any given day are idle? Likely, most of them.

“Acknowledge and take to heart this day that the Lord is God in heaven above and on the earth below. There is no other. Keep his decrees and commands, which I am giving you today, so that it may go well with you and your children after you and that you may live long in the land the Lord your God gives you for all time.” Deuteronomy‬ ‭4:39-40‬ ‭NIV‬‬‬‬

In the early morning, as I read God word, I see that He is using all of my life circumstances to bring Him glory. It is in our personal trials, when it feels as if we could not take one more step and fall on our knees in genuine submission, that God challenges our faith. In so doing we can rise up into His loving embrace, being assured of his promise, “that it may go well with you and your children after you and that you may live long in the land your God gives you for all time.” Duet. 4:40.

In the early morning hours,
When daylight is far away,
I lift my hands in adoration,
I pray Lord show me the way.

Though I cannot see the way to go,
I fully trust you’ll show the path.
You’re hand will take hold of mine,
I submit all to you; no more wrath.

This day is Yours, Lord on high,
Your word, it guides me through.
Through the trials and the challenges,
The pain and heartache, too.

And as the dark becomes light,
I will still but trust in You.
For nothing can separate us,
You guide from a heavenly view.

Thank you Jesus, Lord of lord’s.
Thank you for the gift you’ve given.
Abundant life, you are my rock,
In your death all my sins forgiven.

I rest this morning, a heart at peace,
Your word my firm foundation.
No matter what may come my way,
I submit to you, Creator of creation.

img_2260

Heavenly Father,  this day and every day is Your good and perfect gift.  Let me see not only with my eyes, but also with my heart, my spirit and my mind, all that You would want me to see.  Help me to be like Christ Jesus who made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant. (Philippians 2:7)  In Jesus’ name I pray, Amen.

Author: debrascowden

Wife to Scott, mom to Emily and Danielle. I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

