Thanksgiving 2016

“Be mindful every minute of every hour of every day of the Lord’s presence.
In so doing you will be able to have a servants heart during
a busy and challenging season.” ~ Judy Slaughter

img_0376
Today as I reflect on what I am thankful for, I cannot help but look back on this year. In many ways it feels as if time as stood still. Life seems to have come to a stop. The momentum we had in January and February, the plans we had, were interrupted on February 29th.

But as I have spent time praying and meditating since then, I can see the Lord’s hand in our lives in ways I had never experienced before. Sure, there have been challenging times in my life. Days, weeks and even years when I felt lost and alone. Praying for one thing or another. Yet, not until Scott’s stroke do I think I truly understood who God was, what He was, or how present He was in my life and that of my family’s. It may have felt as if life stopped, but it has moved in some pretty amazing ways.

At our women’s Bible study this past Tuesday, Judy said something for all of us to keep in mind during this holiday season. Yet, as I read it again and again, I am wholly convicted that it needs to be a way of life in all times. She said, “Be mindful every minute of every hour of every day of the Lord’s presence. In so doing you will be able to have a servants heart during a busy and challenging season.” Keep Jesus in the forefront of my mind…all of the time. I’ve not let that word picture leave me since then. Seeing Him right next to me. Am I saying, doing, speaking and behaving in such a way that Jesus would approve?

So today, as you go about preparing your home for Thanksgiving, be mindful of the Lord’s presence. I know I will.

Dear Heavenly Father, thank you…for the very life you have given me, for my husband whom I love and cherish, for my beautiful daughters whom are a delight in my life, for my mom whose kindness and love never cease to fill me, for my sister and her beautiful family, for my friends near and far, I am so grateful for your support,, encouragement, prayers, hugs and love. Thank you Lord for the country. We live in, for the freedoms we enjoy, for the ultimate sacrifice of the men of women in our military. Jesus, I pray for all of them that their day would be reminder to give thanks; for those who don’t know You, I pray they would find You and follow You. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Thanksgiving 2016

Step out in faith,
Walk with Jesus the King.
Give thanks for all that you have;
And with your lips worship and sing.

What does today mean,
To you my dear family and friends?
I hope and I pray your hearts overflow,
As you give thanks with hands you lovingly extend.

Give thanks to the Lord,
For His perfect provisions and plan.
No matter what message the world conveys,
Always follow His lead, and be fishers of man.

I cannot imagine,
The journey Jesus took.
But the days of His glory to come,
Are beautifully inscribed in the Bible, His book.

So open the pages,
It doesn’t matter which one.
For they all show His truth and His life.
And so perfectly, how with His death, sin is finished its done.

“May God himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.” 1 Thessalonians‬ ‭5:23‬

“Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good. His faithful love endures forever.” ‭Psalm 107:1

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

