My Many Faces

 

img_2276Who am I today?

What face will I show others?

Will it be my happy face? 😁

Or perhaps my pity face? 😔

Maybe I’ll wake up and show my “I’m just fine” face. 🤗

As I reflect on these questions I realize how often I “put on” a face that I want others to see. But not always one that’s honest. Sometimes the face I show may not be real, or truthful. So why do I pretend?

The putting on is where I go wrong. You see, I’m putting on from me, from my very limited perspective, tiny world view, instead of from the Source, the true covering – Jesus Christ.

“Rather, clothe yourselves with the Lord Jesus Christ, and do not think about how to gratify the desires of the flesh.” Romans 13:14

To put on Jesus Christ means even before I get out of bed, I need to give Him all that I am. The good, the bad and the ugly. Yet, so often I wake up and lie to myself and others. “Deliver me, O Lord, from lying lips, from a deceitful tongue.” Psalm 120:2  I don’t have to be perfect Polly, or sad Susie.  I am called to be…a woman who lives and breathes and has her being with Jesus.  I’m so thankful that even on my worst days I can be myself in His presence.

He (Jesus) is the vine, I am a branch,
I submit to Him my everything.
Let it all go like a huge avalanche;
In return He’ll rejoice, as I worship and sing.

Today’s worry’s He wants from me,
Tomorrow’s have not yet come.
So from vexation I am free;
Then I hear the musics thrum.

I’ll stay close to Jesus today,
He comforts the weak and weary.
I close my eyes, see His glory displayed,
His hope, I know is no theory.

In truth, with hope and great faith,
I lean on Jesus’ strength and power.
And attentively listen as God saith,
“Wait my precious, ‘tis not yet the hour.”

The face you see in me,
I pray shines Jesus greatly.
And with the angels  we all agree,
Jesus Christ is the most stately.

Above the noise that’s all around,
I pray you’ll hear Him, too.
Your acknowledgement abound,
And your life is made anew.

So, who am I today? Today I chose to show and reflect Jesus. No matter what is happening in and around me. Inside I may feel frosty or perhaps a bit flat and out of sorts. Maybe inside I feel trapped. No matter those feelings – today I will chose to become less so that Jesus may become greater. (John 3:30 paraphrased.)

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

