As White As Snow

As White As Snow

 

I have a love hate relationship with snow.  I love how it makes everything looks so beautiful and serene.  I love how quiet everything is.  Such amazing silence.  I hate the affect the snow has on our day to day life.  Appointments canceled, unable to attend our church surface and Wednesday night Bible Study (thankfully we can stream it.)

 

But the other day as I sat watching the snow fall from my living room chair, I also thought of my sin and my salvation.  “Cleanse me with hyssop, and I will be clean; wash me, and I will be whiter than snow.” Psalm 51:7 (NIV) 

To be washed and made whiter than snow.  How is that even possible?  Well, you see, Jesus is how.  The Son of God, born or a virgin, lived a sinless life, died a dreadfully bloody death on the cross for my sins, and three days later rose from the grave.  His death, once I accepted and believed in Him, made me white as snow.  My sins are as far as the east is to the west.(Psalm 103:12 paraphrased.)

I love how He reminds me of His power and majesty in something as simple as a snow storm.  I hope that you can see, even in the midst of a storm, how great and deep the Father’s love is for you.

I watch the snow fall to the ground,
It covers the world in white.
The big snowflakes make not a sound,
It’s beauty and grace, quiet a sight.

The world outside seems so pure,
Everything looks so fresh and clean.
It makes me feel so self-assured;
All life is simple as never been.

Yet in this beautiful, magical scene,
The Lord’s words do over shadow.
“Though your sins are scarlet (red),” unseen,
 In Me, with Me, they’ll be white as snow.

Wait quietly, my friend, before God,
Like the silent falling snow.
And soon you’ll stand, in Him be awed,
In His beautiful presence, you will glow.

So watch the snow,
In your heart you’ll know,
Jesus’ perfect plan for you
To make you pure, afresh, anew. 

The Son of Man will light the way,
Have faith and trust in His great plan.
And in the silence kneel and pray,
His perfect love is like a cozy afghan.

Isaiah 1:18
“Come now, and let us reason together,” says the Lord, “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall be as wool.”

 

 

 

Author: debrascowden

I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, body and mind and delight in sharing Jesus with others through my poetry and photography.

Leave a Reply

